Tags

, ,

Posts from my AOL Hometown site and AOL Journal have been moved over. This takes my blog back to 2002. I’ve got a couple odd posts from before that, but tracking down the rest is going to be tough, if not impossible.

I’m kind of shocked I was able to find all of those, and also surprised at how much I blogged before “blogging” became a big thing. My original blog was just a page on my website called “Stevi’s College Updates” – later renamed “News – that I added to on a regular basis to keep my family up-to-date on my life in Columbia.

I had to html it myself, and originally, updates were added to the bottom of the page. Until my non-tech-savvy uncle suggested I put new entries at the top so people didn’t have to scroll. Much grumbling and copy/pasting later, my News page was beginning to look like what we now know as a blog.

When my site host went out of business, I had to start over from scratch. I was much busier then, and the wysiwyg editor of AOL Hometown promised me ease of use to make my site maintenance so much less time-consuming. Sometime in 2003, AOL came out with a blogging platform called AOL Journals. I was thrilled to have a platform like that, and jumped on board in September 2003.

By summer of 2004, everyone at The Rock was blogging. And they were all doing it on Xanga. There was a vibrant blogring community, and I was feeling left out. So after some pressure from various Rock bloggers (Aaron Ferguson, I’m looking at you!) I gave in and switched to Xanga.

I was faithful to Xanga for a long time. That’s even how Aaron and I announced our engagement. But once Facebook opened its doors to non-students, it was the beginning of the end. The vibrant community moved full-force to Facebook, and blogging took a back seat.

I kept up my Xanga for awhile. Then dabbled in WordPress blogging while I was buidling my WordPress websites. But most of my thoughts were being posted as Notes on Facebook. I’ve copied all the interesting (and some non-interesting) notes to this blog.

So now, finally, all my blog posts (that I can easily get my hands on) are now in one place. So if you’re interested in my life for the past 8 years or so, you can peruse the archives and see what I was up to at pretty much any point of time since 2002.

Stevi's Habitat

Original Stevi's Habitat Logo

