Tags

, , ,

My body woke me up at 3am today with an extreme bout of pain and nausea. In my state of wooziness I managed to totally slide across my bathroom floor – which didn’t help much with the pain.

I’m slowly beginning to feel more human, although the bumps and bruises from the bathroom incident are starting to make themselves known.

Do you ever just have a day when you think “why can’t I be normal?” But hey, consider it pure joy whenever you face trials of many kinds, right?

I have a soccer game tonight, and I know for that short span of time, I will fight back against my body’s pains and issues and have a blast. I might need a crane to get out of bed tomorrow, but it’ll be worth it. Things that make your heart smile make any physical pain easier to endure.

This is what I’m preaching to my body today, reminding it that I’m not going to be defeated…

“We are hard pressed on every side, but not crushed; perplexed, but not in despair; persecuted, but not abandoned; struck down, but not destroyed.” – 2 Corinthians 4:8-9 (NIV)

Or as the Contemporary English Version (CEV) says:

“We often suffer, but we are never crushed. Even when we don’t know what to do, we never give up. 9In times of trouble, God is with us, and when we are knocked down, we get up again.”

Which only makes me think of…

