Tags

Thursday, January 1, 2004
8:03:21 PM CST
Feeling: Hopeful
Hearing: Vertical Worship 2
Title: Happy New Year!
Happy 2004!  The holidays were fast and furious for me, since I only got Christmas Day and New Year’s Day off of work.  There was lots of driving to and from St. Louis, and many people to see.  Included in my Christmas gifts this year was a new cell phone, to replace the one that tragically drowned in a mud puddle less than a month ago.  Hopefully it will be in my possession by the end of this weekend.  So those who have found it difficult to contact me recently will be as overjoyed as I am.  Also, I am putting in an application for an apartment tomorrow.  Hopefully I will sign the lease in the next week and start moving in soon thereafter.  (If you’re interested in helping in the move, let me know!)

Here is what I learned in 2003:

It has been said that God never allows you to suffer more than you are capable of handling.  I think it’s true.  As some things are taken away, others are given.  There may be large losses (or lots of small ones), but the tiny gains are all the more appreciated.  Of course there has also been a large gain, my renewed relationship with Chris, for which I am SO thankful.

“The LORD gives and the LORD takes away. Praise the name of the LORD!”  Job 1:21b

God knows that what is best for me is to be satisfied in Him.  There are times when to glorify Him best, I must suffer.  To show the world that my joy is not in the gifts given to me by God, but in God Himself.  I must remember that my worldview is limited, and God’s is not.  My desires are often short-sighted, God has eternity in mind.  His is “I AM” and I am “I am Not.”

Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines,
though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the LORD, I will be joyful in God my Savior.”  Habakkuk 3:17-18

