Tags

Thursday, February 12, 2004
10:40:17 PM CST
Feeling: Happy
Hearing: No music, just Rock talks
Title: Little Souls
I realized something today about the kids I work with on a day-to-day basis.  Every day I change their diapers, kiss their owies, yell at them, get frustrated with them, teach them new things, and watch them sleep.  I see them change and grow right before my very eyes.  It happens so fast!  But today I realized for the first time that these are little souls.  They were created for Christ, and in Him they have their purpose.  One day they will be able to choose Christ, or choose to live without Him.  And I had to wonder… who will tell them about Him?  And when they hear about Him, will they want Him?  It made me think about my job a little differently.  Every day I am helping to shape these little souls into someone that will eventually have to make the choice about Christ.  I want to help them become the kind of person who will choose Him.  If I can plant little seeds of love and faith, then maybe that will help them one day make that all-important decision.

For now, I will just enjoy the moments – like this week, when I heard 1-year-old Denayjah say her first word:  kitty-cat!