Well, the holidays have come and gone.  I went to STL for Christmas and got to see some of my cousins who just graduated from basic training, as well as a cousin from Arizona that I hadn’t seen in probably 3 or 4 years.  He’s changed a lot, and it was great to see him moving forward in life with purpose. 

I finally got bookshelves for my apartment, thanks to my awesome parents.  So now, if you wish, you can come to my place and browse through my library.  If you’re ever in need of a lighthearted moment, I have an abundance of kids books, from Dr. Seuss to Mrs. Piggle-Wiggle, Care Bears to Harry Potter. 

My family really did a great job with Christmas this year, there weren’t massive numbers of gifts, but all of them were heartfelt & meaningful.  I was overjoyed to receive the Return of the King extended DVD.  That will be hours upon hours of entertainment for me.  I also got a calligraphy set, which was a real surprise, since I’ve only gotten interested in calligraphy the last few weeks.

But by far, the most impactful (if impactful is a word) gift, has been the book, Epic by John Eldredge.  I’ve never actually read any of his work, so I didn’t really know what to expect.  In a lot of ways, his writing reminds me of C.S. Lewis (which is quite a compliment from me).  It really resonated with me. 

It’s not a long book, so don’t bother putting it on your “to read someday” list.  Just get the book, or borrow it, and read it.  Just do it.  And when you’re done, visit the accompanying website, epicreality.com.  It expands upon some of the themes of the book and gives some practical “what next” steps.  That’s how I came up with my December 27th entry.

If you’re not convinced, you can read the prologue to the book here:

http://www.ransomedheart.com/files/Epic%20(Prologue).pdf

Also, I’m going to give another plug for Samaritan’s Purse, if you haven’t yet given anything to help the tsunami victims in the Indian Ocean basin.  Come on, you can give $20. 

www.samaritanspurse.org