I was just catching up on all the xanga’s I’ve missed while I’ve been sick.  I’m sad that I missed Caroline’s departure.  I’m praying for you Caroline! I know God is going to do something new in your life.

Anyway, I also ran across James’ entry from Thursday about Scripture.  He said exactly what I’ve been feeling.  I can’t understand why I find the Bible so dry, when I’m the kind of person who can read the same book over and over and never get sick of it.  

How many times have I read “The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe”?  Countless.  I’ve read the entire Lord of the Rings twice now.  I read Madeleine L’Engle’s Time Quartet probably a hundred times while I was growing up.  I have shelves of books that I’ve read more than once, and I’m likely to run and grab one again tonight.  

So it’s not as if I don’t like reading, or that I don’t like reading things I’ve read before.  I enjoy taking out a book I haven’t read in awhile and getting reacquainted with it, like running into an old friend.  I find it comforting.  And with books I’ve only read once or twice, I’m excited to find something new in the pages that I didn’t discover the first time.  

I recently reread “The Voyage of the Dawn Treader” and was pleasantly suprised to find some new nugget of truth in the episode where Eustace becomes a dragon and is saved by Aslan.  I was so desperate to tell someone about what I’d read, I actually begged Kelly to let me tell her, even though she’s reading the Chronicles of Narnia and hadn’t got to that book yet.

So why can’t I read the Bible like that?  With the warm fuzzies of meeting an old friend?  With the anticipation of finding something new?  Why does it seem more like a text-book, something to toil through and learn?  (I’ve always been horrible at reading text-books when required for school).  

But still, I am a information junkie.  I do read reference books for fun, just to learn something.  I’ve been known to run and grab a reference book or text book or even old class notes just because I had a sudden thought or question about something I’d read before, or something someone has said.

I’ll sheepishly admit to being pretty knowledgeable about the contents of the Bible.  I did Bible Drill as a kid (so glad my parents made me do that), and I can probably find a verse in any book of the Bible in a matter of seconds.  I can recite all the books in order.   Name a story, or a character, or even a concept or part of a verse and I can probably track it down pretty quickly (although Biblegateway.com has made me lazy recently).  I have Bible verses memorized in English as well as Spanish.  I know the meanings of a lot of the names of people & places in the Bible (Bethlehem means “house of bread”).   But I still can’t seem to find the desire to read it.

It’s pretty embarassing, since a lot of people know and recognize that I’m knowledgeable about the Bible.  And I will never hesitate to offer a verse, or point out a passage that will apply to someone’s life.  I’m pretty well known among my close friends as the one with a verse for every occaision.   I’ve been told it’s a spiritual gift.  So if I’m neglecting the Bible, how am I supposed to use my gift?  

So what’s the problem?  I wish I had a wonderful answer with which to conclude this xanga… but I don’t.  So I’ll just end it with the question…. what’s my mental block with the Bible?????