This is based on Kate’s survey.  I thought it would be fun to post.

1. How many blogs have you had (that includes personal pages, Xanga, LiveJournal, Blogger, etc., but not things like Facebook)?

Well, I started off with an AOL Blog, but since all my friends were doing the Xanga thing, I went with the crowd.  So, two.  Well, that’s not entirely true.  Before blogs were really popular, I had a section of my website that was kind of blogish, where I added news about my life and things on a regular basis.

2. What do you usually write about–personal life, politics and news, professional information, or something else?

I write about anything and everything.  My personal life, news articles that catch my attention, books I read, my opinions and ideas.  Whatever happens to be on my mind at the time that I write.  I try to post things that I think other people would be interested in.  I base it on the kind of blogs I like to read.  I like blogs with variety, so that’s what I try to make my blog.

3. How long have you had your blog? How often do you update?

I started my “pseudo-blog” on my website in 1999.  Got the AOL blog in September 2003.  Moved to Xanga in July 2004.  I usually update several times a week.  I’ve gone through spurts of writing every day, and other times where I don’t post for over a week.  I probably post more often because I have a lot of time at work just sitting in front of the computer.  I rarely post on weekends.

4. Do you like getting feedback/comments on your posts? Are they necessary for your motivation to blog?

Well, I’d like to think that I could do without comments, but if weeks go by and no one comments, I get a little insecure.  I like to think that people are reading what I write.  I don’t use comments to determine what I write about though. 

5. Do you read other people’s blogs? If so, whose (i.e., your friends, friends of friends, political blogs, etc.)?

I mostly read my friends’ blogs.  If one of them links to another blog, I usually read that too.  And if I’m searching the internet and a blog comes up, I’ll usually read it.  It’s kind of neat to see what other people are thinking and writing about.  But as I said before, I like blogs with a lot of variety.  If it’s just “blah blah blah, my classes suck, blah blah blah, I need to do laundry, blah blah blah, I got drunk last night, blah blah blah, I need a boyfriend” every single day, I’m not likely to read it.  So stop me if I ever get like that.  On the other hand, if it is just news articles, or political rampaging, I’m not likely to read that either.  That’s what I read newspapers for.  Variety is the key.

