Why is it that living in harmony, unity & submission to people is so difficult? 

I’ve found myself getting annoyed at my closest friends recently… not for any huge thing that they’ve done… just for their weird quirks.  Maybe they asked a dumb question… or said something I wouldn’t have said… or did something I thought was wrong… or had an idea I thought was dumb.  In the past I let these things roll on by without giving them a second thought.  But for some reason, I’ve found those things frustrating me recently. 

I used to be a severely cynical person… you may find that hard to beleive.  But if you’d known me in 1998, you would be shocked at my level of pessimism & cynicism.  I had no idea how to see the best in people… I always assumed the worst.  And I laughed at it.  But God captured my heart & turned it toward Him, melting my cynicism, and exposing my pessimism to the light of His joy & hope.  So why am I reverting to the chilling darkness of my previous existance? 

I wouldn’t say I’m being as consumed by it as I was before… because I’m really not that person anymore.  But like an adult trying to wear their childhood clothes, I’m falling back on something I used to find comforting, only to find that it doesn’t fit anymore.  It pinches & constricts.  Why did I drag that out of the bottom of my heart’s closet?  Why was it even still in there?  Didn’t I give that box to God years ago?  Ugh….

God, take this ugly thing & throw it away.  It doesn’t fit me… it doesn’t suit me as a Child of God.  Clothe me with compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness and patience (Colossians 3:12).  Dress me in Freedom!

You were taught, with regard to your former way of life, to put off your old self, which is being corrupted by its deceitful desires; to be made new in the attitude of your minds; and to put on the new self, created to be like God in true righteousness and holiness.” (Ephesians 4:22-24)