I hate baseball, but as a native of the Lou, steeped in the traditions & raised by parents who forced me to attend one game at Busch every year, this just spoke to me deep in my proud St. Louis soul…

‘Embarrassed’ Royals 3 losses from AL record
Beltre’s slam in first pushes K.C. to 18th straight loss, 3 shy of O’s mark

One of the Kansas City Royals has even had to change his evening plans.

“I’m embarrassed,” right-hander Jose Lima said. “I’m embarrassed to go into a bar. The people would say, ‘They lost 18 in a row. They really stink this year.”’

The Royals lost their club-record 18th straight game Wednesday, moving within three of matching the longest skid in American League history by falling 11-5 to the Seattle Mariners.

Manager Buddy Bell rejoined the Royals after a two-game absence while attending burial services at Arlington National Cemetery for his Marine nephew, who was killed by a roadside bomb in Iraq earlier this month.

Bell returned to the dugout and watched the Royals get closer to the AL record of 21 straight losses set by the Baltimore Orioles at the start of the 1988 season. The modern major league record for consecutive losses is 23, set by the 1961 Philadelphia Phillies.

Gosh, 38-81.  That’s just terrible.  I have the utmost sympathy for the KC folks.

And how are the Cardinals, you ask?  76-44.  They’re doing just fine, thank you.