Tags

,

I have a confession to make…
I’m on a wedding dress diet.
Sad, isn’t it?  It’s not so much that I didn’t like how I looked in the dress (although the little flabules squishing out at the top weren’t too pretty).  Or that I thought Aaron would be disappointed with me in a bikini.  It’s that I was afraid that with the busyness of wedding planning, I might indulge too much & actually gain weight.  Knowing I could never stick to any particular diet, I went searching for another method to keep myself eating healthy.  I found www.calorie-count.com.
I’ve been using this to help me eat healthy the last month.  I try to stay within my calorie range & I try to get a good “grade” on my nutrition every day.  I’ve really been amazed at how much I can really eat.  I even had 3 slices of pizza yesterday (after hiking at Rock Bridge) & still got a B because taken with my other meals that day, I had the right proportion of fat, carbs & protein. Most days I have a Clif bar or Balance bar for breakfast, a cup of tuna for lunch, some South Beach Crackers for a snack & then a well rounded dinner (well… pizza IS round…)
It’s actually kind of fun.  It’s fun to try to come up with meals that will get a good grade.  It’s a challenge to try to make sure my calorie expenditure is higher than my calorie intake.  And it hasn’t really cramped my style any.  I know that Wednesday nights I hang out with the girls & will probably eat more calories than usual.  So I stay strictly to my clif bar, tuna & crackers during the day.  Other days, I can eat a little more for lunch, knowing that I’m planning to just have chicken & broccoli for dinner.
I would encourage everyone to check out the calorie-count website.  Eating healthy shouldn’t be something to be ashamed of.  And it shouldn’t cramp your style.  You can also check out this article, which will give you a good idea of how much fat, carbs & protein you need each day.  http://health.ivillage.com/eating/enutritional/0,,btq5,00.html
I’ve lost some pounds, and gotten back to my Freshman Year weight.  There’s a little less booty in my pants (meaning they don’t feel so tight when I put them on right after washing!).  My BMI is well within the healthy range.  And I got an A- grade average this week!
