Tags

, ,

Sunday night, Aaron & I were kind of talking about everything that has happened in the last 3 years that we’ve known each other.  He was trying to remember some people that aren’t in Columbia anymore, so we got out the photo albums.  It put me into a nostalgic mood.  Especially seeing so many people that have gone in so many different directions.  People who have gotten married.  People who are ministering in various places.  People who got fabulous jobs.  People who have already joined Christ in Heaven.

Last night, I dreamt about a lot of those people.  It was as if we were all running a race, though all of us were on different parts of the trail.  (I think this came from a particular set of pictures, some of which are on  my website: http://hometown.aol.com/joyfuljoyful99/clt02pics2.html

Every now and then, some of us who were running together would stop for a moment & find out where everyone else was in the race.  We could kind of see where other people had been & where they were now. We could also look back & see ourselves running at various places.(I think some of this came from the fact that I fell asleep listening to Mere Christianity, the chapter that talked about Time & Beyond Time). We were all looking forward to the end, where we’d have a big party once we all crossed the finish line.  It was very metaphoric, but I didn’t know it until I woke up & had time to mull it over.

This morning when I got to work, I was still kind of wrapped up in thoughts about my dream.  I very rarely remember things about my dreams anymore, but this one was so clear, and very emotional.  It had really kind of shaken me up, it was very very real & the people in it were very real.  I don’t think I can really describe how it felt.

So when I read Maria’s xanga this morning, I instantly thought of my dream. And I wonder if maybe God is asking all of us to take this time to look forward to the great Reunion. At Tyler’s funeral, I think all of us got a little glimpse of what the Reunion will be like.  It’s going to be so beautiful.  I think the thing to do right now is to try to recruit more and more people, so the Reunion will be that much bigger & better.

Maybe I’m making more of this than necessary. Maybe my dream was just the product of an evening spent looking at pictures, and an overly-spiritual mood brought on by listening to C.S. Lewis. But if there’s a message, I don’t want to miss it.

 

If we really think that home is elsewhere and that this life is a “wandering to find home,” why should we not look forward to the arrival?C. S. Lewis

If you read history you will find that the Christians who did most for the present world were precisely those who thought most of the next. It is since Christians have largely ceased to think of the other world that they have become so ineffective in this.C. S. Lewis