Tags

,

I regularly read a blog by a young Catholic priest called Father Jonathan.  I have a strong dislike for a lot of the news bloggers.  Most of them have a political agenda, either disguised or flaunted & that doesn’t sit well with me, even if I agree with their opinion on a particular topic.

Father Jonathan is vastly different than any other news blogger I’ve come across.  Not only does he try to show the different sides, views & opinions of every topic he covers (and he generally seems very well-informed about his subjects), but he also discusses the spiritual ramifications. Not in a preachy or even theological sense, but more from the perspective of “how does topic this affect people spiritually?” or “how does religion affect this topic?” 

I also have been impressed by his responses to people who comment.  Sometimes their emails are dripping with hate.  Sometimes they jump to conclusions.  But when Jonathan responds, he does so with patience, gentleness & humility.  He handles every response, whether it’s an accusation, a question, an agreement, or an opinion with thoughtfulness & respect.  He seems to always be examining his motives & his methods to be sure he’s not in the wrong.  Of all the news sites I visit throughout the week, I’m always most excited to see an update on Father Jonathan’s blog.

Here’s one reader’s response to Father Jonathan’s recent series of blogs on freedom of religion.  I liked this one because it is from a non-Christian’s perspective & was written thoughtfully.

Father Jonathan,

First, my bias, I am a non-Christian, and I disagree with the politics of Christian churches on many things. I am, however a huge fan of yours. In your writings, I find the best of what Christians have to offer. It gives me hope.

In response to this debate, I must make one point on the First Amendment to the U.S. Constitution:

This amendment was created, on the religious aspect, to:

• Prevent a (an elected) theocracy, as our Founding Fathers knew what kind of society a theocracy produces, as do we looking to the Middle East.

• Prevent the government from interfering with anyone’s practice of his or her own religion.

The First Amendment was never meant to eradicate all public expressions of religion. The public display, even in a school, of religious symbols does not promote a theocracy, except in the wildest of slippery slope arguments. Nor does it prevent anyone from practicing his or her own religion.

Besides, when all religious expression is eradicated from the public view, does not the officially- sanctioned religion become atheism?

— Christopher L.

If you’d like to read Father Jonathan’s blog, you can find it here: www.foxnews.com/fatherjonathan

