I also made a yummy avocado soup that is delicious either hot or cold. And it didn’t taste anything like guacamole. Here’s how I did it…

Avocado Soup

  • 1 bouillon cube (I used chicken), dissolved in ½ cup hot water
  • ½ cup plain (unflavored) yogurt
  • 1 super ripe avocado, peeled, pitted and sliced
  • 1 TBSP lemon juice
  • Onion powder and salt to taste

I pureed all of these in the blender while adding milk until it was a silky smooth soup consistency (somewhat like a bisque or tomato soup, not like “cream of” soup or chowder).

I added a sprig of fresh cilantro for garnish and a bit of flavor.  I heated it up the first time, then ate the leftovers cold right out of the fridge.  It was good both ways, though I ended up adding a sprinkling of sugar to it when I ate it cold.

Variations on the theme:

  • I bet this would also make a good salad dressing or sauce for chicken.
  • A bit of cumin and chili powder could give it a kick if you wanted.
