Tags

, , , , ,

It’s that time of year – the time of year that many of us spend countless minutes of our day applying various lotions & creams, attempting to ward off dry skin, or heal cracks and irritation.  I decided to share some of my favorite moisturizing products, hope they help!

LIPS

Burt’s Bees Original Beeswax Lip Balm – hands down, this is the best lip balm ever!  Be sure to get the original beeswax version, not the Honey version.  In my experience, the Honey version is not as consistently good.  Sometimes it is a bit grainy.  It also doesn’t have that soothing minty flavor that feels so good on dry lips like the original beeswax does.  The Pomegranate one is OK, but the fragrance kind of gets on my nerves after awhile.  Burt’s Bees also makes some fantastic lip glosses and lipsticks that all have the same lovely moisturizing properties of the lip balm – but with color!

FACE

Burt’s Bees Radiance Night Cream – sometimes you need a little extra moisture overnight, to keep from waking up with tight, uncomfortable skin, or dry spots.  The night cream feels so soft and silky, and so will your skin when you wake up!

Burt’s Bees Royal Jelly Eye Cream – after several days of wearing eye makeup and scrubbing it off, the skin around my eyes starts to get angry at me.  The eye cream is my way of apologizing to my skin.

Ocean Potion Moisturizing Aloe Lotion – not just for a day at the beach!  It’s made to help heal your skin after too much sun exposure (not that any of us would do that!).  But the tea tree oil, aloe, and vitamin E do a great job at healing raw skin of any kind.  What’s especially great about it is that it’s a very light, non-greasy lotion that I can put on my face before my make-up.  The cool tropical scent is a great wake-me-up in the morning too.

HANDS

St. Ives Collagen Elastin Moisturizer – this stuff soaks in super fast, but moisturizes much better than many thicker lotions.  I like to carry it in my purse for moisturizing on the go.  It does a great job at counteracting the soap in public restrooms, which seems to be designed to suck all possible moisture from your skin.  The lack of fragrance means that this lotion won’t conflict with your perfume, and can even be used by a dude.

Aveeno Intense Relief Moisturizing Lotion – I used this when I worked in a day care and washed my hands about a bazillion times a day, and had my hands in and out of dishwater with soap or bleach.  If you have seriously dry skin, or wash your hands frequently, this will help.

Vaseline Intensive Moisture Lotion – another product I used when I worked in the day care.  This stuff is serious!  It’s almost to the point of greasy, and it takes some time to rub it in.  But once it’s there, it stays there!  It actually forms kind of a water-proof barrier, and it takes soap to get it off.  I think it really protected my hands, especially from the bleach I had to use for cleaning.

FEET

Burt’s Bees Coconut Foot Cream – this is some thick gooey stuff!  I use it for feet, elbows and knees before bed.  Putting on a pair of socks helps trap in the moisture and leaves my feet soft and happy by morning.

BODY

Burt’s Bees Milk & Honey Body Lotion – great for after a shower!  This stuff is thick and creamy, but soaks in fast so you can get going in a hurry.  Great for moisturizing legs and arms that miss out on all that hand lotion you apply all day long.  Smells yummy too.

Aveeno Positively Radiant Moisturizer – another great fragrance-free moisturizer.  This is a non-greasy, lightweight moisturizer that you can use all over, even on your face.  It has kind of an iridescent sheen to it that is supposed to make your skin look radiant.  I don’t know about that, but it sure does moisturize!

SOAP

Tone Foaming Hand Wash with Cocoa Butter – a gentle hand soap that doesn’t leave your hands feeling dry or uncomfortable.

Softsoap Pure Cashmere OR Milk Protein & Honey Body Wash – the best moisturizing shower gels I have found so far.  They smell nice too and also come in a hand soap variety.

 

 

MORE

Alpha Keri Shower & Bath Oil – add to your bath water, or slather it on after a shower to lock in the moisture your skin has absorbed.  But be prepared to scrub your tub well, it leaves a film.

Tresemme No Frizz Shine Spray – get through the day without the dreaded winter static and frizz.  This is a silicone-based spray that keeps your hair under control and adds shine.

I also keep pump bottles of various lotions around the house for moisturizing emergencies.  I’ve got Lubriderm, St. Ives, Suave, Bath & Body Works, and Jergens.  All of them are decent and serve their purpose.  When I can, I choose ones with shea butter or cocoa butter.  I’ve also been known to rub olive oil into my hands while cooking.  That’s some good stuff!

One of the best things you can do for your skin during winter is to buy and use a humidifier or vaporizer.  I have a Holmes warm mist humidifier and it really cranks out the moisture on the high setting, but can also be lowered for days when it’s not so dry.  I turn it on every night when I go to bed, and it has really helped not only my skin, but also my sinuses, throat, and eyes.  Without it, I wake up with a dry scratchy throat, dry eyes, and stuffy sinuses.  With it, life is much better.