Tags

,

I was trying to find something to eat using some stuff that’s been lingering in my pantry for awhile. What I came up with turned out to be really yummy…

2 cups instant rice
1 can cream of mushroom and garlic soup (Campbells)
1 cup water
1 can bamboo shoots, drained
1/2 cup frozen peas
1/4 cup sesame seeds
2 green onion stalks, sliced


I tossed all of that into a casserole dish and stuck it in the microwave until the water started to boil. Then I let it sit until the rice had soaked up all the water. It was really good the first time around, and still good as leftovers the next day.

You could probably add chicken. I just didn’t have any to experiment with. The bamboo shoots weren’t my favorite part of this recipe, so take them or leave them. At least they’re not in my pantry anymore….

Campbells makes a bunch of "cooking" soups specifically for this type of recipe. You should check them out. I have some kind of shrimp soup that I’m dying to find a use for.