Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Though I don’t agree with this blogger’s opinion on the Hermione/Harry/Ron triangle, I do agree with most of what she has to say about Bella/Edward/Jacob. In fact, I started a blog post about this a long time ago. I guess now’s as good a time as any to finally get it out in the open.

SPOILER WARNING: If you haven’t finished all of Twilight or Buffy, and you care at all about spoilers, I recommend not continuing with this post. So stop. Like, right now. Jackie, that means YOU :-).

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

I recently have begun to consider switching teams. You know… Twilight teams. That’s right. I might trade my Team Edward keychain for a Team Jacob. Is this weird? Before seeing Eclipse, I went back and listened to the audio books to refresh my memory. And that’s when everything started to change.

I first read the Twilight Saga in spring 2009. I read all four over Memorial weekend – really fast. Then I re-read them. And re-read them again. But by fall, I was done. Really, really done with Twilight. I went to see New Moon once, but didn’t really revisit any of it again until a few weeks before Eclipse came out.

When I started going through the books again, I discovered a profound shift in my team loyalty. After watching the movie, I’m still not totally convinced, but I’m really leaning toward converting to Team Jacob. I have read Breaking Dawn. I know how it all goes down. But that doesn’t mean we all have to agree with it.

So I’ve been trying to find the catalyst for this startling change of heart. And I think it has everything to do with another fandom altogether. Buffy. I used to be firmly on Team Angel. I only read Bangel fanfic. I was appalled by Buffy‘s relationship choices after Angel left. But after re-watching the whole series, and giving seasons 6 & 7 a fair shot (having watched them haphazardly during their original airings), I whole-heartedly jumped the Bangel ‘ship in favor of Spuffy.

Spike & BuffyAnd I think this fundamental shift, accepting the idea that maybe Buffy and Angel aren’t perfect for each other… even after over 10 years of Bangel-shipping… I think that opened my mind to the possibility that I might be wrong about Bella and Edward too.

Angel and Edward have so much in common. The guilt, the brooding, the over-protectiveness, the tendency to make decisions for their girlfriends without considering her opinion. When I re-watched a particular scene in Buffy (see below), I could see the parallels to a similar scene in Twilight.

And for the first time, it felt wrong. Not just because both girls’ hearts were broken, but because neither vampire gave any consideration at all to the young woman’s opinion. Maybe the motive was legitimate. But they didn’t offer a chance to work it out, or talk it out, or compromise.

Then seeing characters such as Jacob and Spike, who each were willing to let the girl he loved do her own thing, even if he thought it was stupid and even if it broke his own heart… I think that’s when I started having second thoughts about my team loyalty.

Buffy the Vampire Slayer: The Prom, Season 3, Episode 20
Buffy: Every time I say the word ‘prom’, you get grouchy.
Angel: I’m sorry. I’m just worried that you’re getting too…invested in this whole thing.
Buffy: What whole thing? Isn’t this the stuff that I’m supposed to get invested in? Going to a formal, graduating, growing up.
Angel: I know.
Buffy: Then what? What’s with the dire?
Angel: It’s uh, it’s nothing.
Buffy: No, you have ‘something’ face.
Angel: I think we need to talk, but not now and not here.
Buffy: No. No, if you have something to say, then say it. (silence) Angel, drop the cryptic. You’re scaring me.
Angel: I’ve been thinking… about our future. And the more I do, the more I feel like us, you and me being together, is unfair to you.
Buffy: Is this about what the Mayor said? Because he was just trying to shake us up.
Angel: He was right.
Buffy: No. No, he wasn’t. He’s the bad guy.
Angel: You deserve more. You deserve something outside of demons and darkness. You should be with someone who can take you into the light.  Someone who can make love to you.
Buffy: I don’t care about that.
Angel: You will. And children.
Buffy: Children? Can you say jumping the gun? I kill my goldfish.
Angel: Today. But you have no idea how fast it goes, Buffy. Before you know it, you’ll want it all, a normal life.
Buffy: I’ll never have a normal life.
Angel: Right, you’ll always be a Slayer. But that’s all the more reason why you should have a real relationship instead of this, this freak show. (Buffy is stunned.) I didn’t mean that.
Buffy: I’m gonna go.
Angel: (grabs her arm) I’m sorry. Buffy, you know how much I love you. It kills me to say this.
Buffy: Then don’t. Who are you to tell me what’s right for me? You think I haven’t thought about this?
Angel: Have you, rationally?
Buffy: No. No, of course not. I’m just some swoony little schoolgirl, right?
Angel: I’m trying to do what’s right here, okay? I’m trying to think with my head instead of my heart.
Buffy: Heart? You have a heart? It isn’t even beating!
Angel: Don’t.
Buffy: Don’t what? Don’t love you? I’m sorry. You know what? I didn’t know that I got a choice in that. I’m never gonna change.  I can’t change. I want my life to be with you.
Angel: I don’t.
Buffy: You don’t want to be with me? I can’t believe you’re breaking up with me.
Angel: It doesn’t mean that I don’t …
Buffy: How am I supposed to stay away from you?
Angel: I’m leaving. After the Ascension, after it’s finished with the Mayor and Faith. If we survive, I’ll go.
Buffy: Where?
Angel: I don’t know.
Buffy: Is this really happening?

The Twilight Saga: New Moon, Chapter 3
Bella: Okay, let’s talk.
Edward: Bella, we’re leaving.
Bella: Why now? Another year—
Edward: Bella, it’s time. How much longer could we stay in Forks, after all? Carlisle can barely pass for thirty, and he’s claiming thirty-three now. We’d have to start over soon regardless.
Bella: When you say we—
Edward: I mean my family and myself.
Bella: Okay, I’ll come with you.
Edward: You can’t, Bella. Where we’re going… It’s not the right place for you.
Bella: Where you are is the right place for me.
Edward: I’m no good for you, Bella.
Bella: Don’t be ridiculous. You’re the very best part of my life.
Edward: My world is not for you.
Bella: What happened with Jasper—that was nothing, Edward! Nothing!
Edward: You’re right, It was exactly what was to be expected.
Bella: You promised! In Phoenix, you promised that you would stay—
Edward: As long as that was best for you.
Bella: No! This is about my soul, isn’t it? Carlisle told me about that, and I don’t care, Edward. I don’t care! You can have my soul. I don’t want it without you—it’s yours already!
Edward: Bella, I don’t want you to come with me.
Bella: You… don’t… want me?
Edward: No.
Bella: Well, that changes things.
Edward: Of course, I’ll always love you… in a way. But what happened the other night made me realize that it’s time for a change. Because I’m… tired of pretending to be something I’m not, Bella. I am not human. I’ve let this go on much too long, and I’m sorry for that.
Bella: Don’t. Don’t do this.
Edward: You’re not good for me, Bella.
Bella: If… that’s what you want.
Edward: I would like to ask one favor, though, if that’s not too much,
Bella: Anything,
Edward: Don’t do anything reckless or stupid. Do you understand what I’m saying? I’m thinking of Charlie, of course. He needs you. Take care of yourself—for him.
Bella: I will.
Edward: And I’ll make you a promise in return. I promise that this will be the last time you’ll see me. I won’t come back. I won’t put you through anything like this again. You can go on with your life without any more interference from me. It will be as if I’d never existed.

