Tags

,

The cabbage soup was surprising. I thought it might taste like the cabbage my grandma used to make with pork grease. No resemblance whatsoever. The cabbage and celery lost all their “bite” and the whole soup has a sweetness to it that I didn’t expect. It’s also not as watery as I had feared; it’s a hearty soup that really does fill me up. I have to say that it tasted better after it had been in the fridge a few days than it did the night I made it. No additional spices are necessary, which also surprised me. With home-made soups, I usually find myself rummaging around in my spice cabinet to make them less boring. But this is really flavorful all on its own.

Here is the recipes, as I altered it. Keep in mind I was substituting as I went, so measurements are not precise. Use your best judgment and taste-test often.

Cabbage Soup

* 1 cup chicken broth
* 1 stalk celery, chopped
* 6 baby carrots, chopped
* 1/4 onion, chopped
* 1 cloves garlic, minced
* 1/2 medium head cabbage, chopped
* 1 cups diced ham
* 1/2 tablespoon dried parsley
* salt to taste

DIRECTIONS

1. Place the chicken broth, celery, carrots, onion, garlic, cabbage, ham and parsley in a large pot over high heat, add enough water to cover the vegetables. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and simmer for 1 1/2 hours. Can also be done in a slow cooker.