Tags

, ,

Strawberry Friendship MuffinHad some strawberry yogurt that was about to expire. So I went looking for a few recipes to use it in. The first is a variation on my Amish Friendship Bread.

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup strawberry yogurt
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup almonds
  • 1 cup Amish Friendship starter
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 โ€“ (5.1 oz) box instant vanilla pudding (I use sugar-free)
  • 1/2 tsp salt

I knew some people wouldn’t like big chunks of almonds in the muffins, but I wanted the protein and needed to use the almonds up. So I put them, along with the yogurt, milk, eggs & vanilla into the blender and blended it until the almonds were pulverized.

Directions:

  1. Mix wet ingredients in a bowl. Use a plastic or wooden spoon, since metal can cause it not to rise properly.
  2. Mix dry ingredients in a seperate bowl.
  3. Then combine dry & wet ingredients and mix well.
  4. Pour batter into well-greased muffin tins. (or you can use bread pans, if you want bread rather than muffins. You can sugar the tops of the muffins if you want.
  5. Bake at 325 degrees.
  6. Bake about 35 minutes for muffins, about an hour for bread. Test with a toothpick or knife, when it comes out clean, it’s done.

I’ve had this starter going since January 2010. I gave up feeding it around April, and since then, it’s been just chilling in an old salsa jar in the back of my fridge. Every now and then, I pour off the hooch and add a tablespoon each of flour, milk and sugar, so it can replenish itself. The muffins turned out totally fine, so I don’t think long-term storage of the starter is detrimental to it at all.

