Tags

, ,

A friend of mine (hey Amy!) asked for some interesting bean recipes. So I went looking. I’ve been looking for more protein-heavy meals that I can cook on the weekends and take for lunch during the week, and this challenge coincided nicely.

I’ve got a handful of bean recipes, and a few non-bean recipes, went grocery shopping today (Aldi, Walmart and HyVee – that was some hardcore shopping), so I’m ready to rock and roll. As I test each recipe, I’ll post it here and let you know how it went.

  • Calico Beans (Inspired by Shiloh)
  • Empedreado (Gravel Salad)
  • Casablanca Chili
  • Porotos Granados (Chilean Bean Stew)
  • Carrot Patties (Vegetarian Crab Cakes)
  • Chicken Curry
  • Warm Heart Stew
  • Chicken Queso Soup
  • Beans on Toast

I currently have nine types of beans in my pantry: garbanzo/chickpeas, black beans, red beans. pinto beans, lima beans, navy beans, black-eyed peas, dried peas, great northern beans. I also have cans of pork & beans, beanie weenies, vegetarian baked beans, and beans in chili sauce. And a big jar of Bean-O. Just to be safe.