Tags

,

After my successful Strawberry Friendship Muffins, I still had some strawberry yogurt that needed to be used. So I went looking for recipes online. Most were baked goods and smoothies. But then I came across this one, and it was so intriguing, I had to give it a try. Of course, I didn’t have some of the ingredients. So I had to do some modifying. Here’s what I came up with:

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup strawberry yogurt
  • 2 TBSP apple cider vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp white sugar
  • 1/2 tsp ground red pepper
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 skinless, boneless chicken breast, cut in half
  • olive oil
  • salt, to taste
  • minced parsley, to taste

Directions:

  1. In a medium bowl, stir together the yogurt, vinegar, sugar, pepper, cinnamon and salt. Place chicken breast halves in a shallow baking dish, and pour the sauce over them. Refrigerate overnight.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Scrape the marinade off of the chicken breasts, and place them into the hot oil. Quickly brown the chicken on both sides, then reduce the heat to medium-low, cover, and cook until chicken is no longer pink and juices run clear. Remove from heat. Let rest for 3 minutes.
  3. While the chicken is cooking, transfer the marinade to a saucepan. Bring to a low simmer over medium heat.
  4. Slice chicken breasts on the diagonal into 1/2 inch thick slices. Place on serving plates, and sprinkle with lemon juice. Spoon about 2 tablespoons of the sauce over each chicken breast, sprinkle with parsley.

YMMV on this recipe. I don’t know how it would go with the balsamic vinegar from the original recipe, but the apple cider vinegar didn’t do it for me. Personally, I preferred the chicken I tested without the sauce. It was moist had plenty of flavor. I could definitely taste the strawberry, but not too much vinegar. So this might be a recipe I use for marinade only, and skip the sauce.

I wish I’d had the fresh parsley and mint, but my herb plants never make it through the winter in my house, they fall prey to low sunlight and hungry cat pretty quickly. So I had to make do with dried parsley, which was neither attractive nor flavorful. I’ll give this another try in the summer, with fresh herbs, and maybe grill the marinated chicken & serve on a baby spinach salad with fresh strawberries and toasted almonds. Great. Now I’m even more anxious for summer to get here…

P.S. When I reheated the leftover chicken, I didn’t use the strawberry sauce. Instead, I used some honey dijon mayonnaise that I had in the fridge at work, and it was pretty good. Maybe this summer when I make that spinach salad, I’ll use a honey mustard dressing…

strawberry chicken