Tags

,

curry powderI’ve been wanting a good solid curry recipe. This one popped up on a blog I follow, and I thought I’d give it a try.

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil
  • 1 cup chopped red onion
  • 1 TBSP curry powder
  • 1 TBSP chopped fresh ginger
  • 1/4 tsp anise seed
  • 3 cloves
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 clove garlic, chopped
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, chopped
  • 2/3 cup chopped baby carrots
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 jalapeno, chopped
  • 1 cup chopped tomato
  • 1 cup chopped honeydew melon
  • 1 jalapeño, chopped
  • juice from half a lime

coconut milkDirections:

  1. Saute onion in olive oil, as it releases its juices, add the spices and stir into a paste
  2. Add chicken and carrots, brown
  3. Add water and coconut milk
  4. Bring to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes
  5. Add jalapeno, tomato & melon
  6. Continue cooking 5-10 minutes
  7. Add lime juice before serving

I served mine on jasmine rice, using these instructions:

  1. Thoroughly rinse the rice under cold water.
  2. Bring 2 cups of water to a slow boil in a medium sized pot.
  3. Once the water is boiling add salt and stir.
  4. Add rinsed rice, stir for 10 seconds, and cover tightly.
  5. Reduce the heat to a medium and cook for 15 minutes.
  6. Fluff the rice with a fork

Notes:

I followed the video, rather than the text recipe, so I had to estimate amounts. I also had to make a couple substitutions. I couldn’t find star anise anywhere, so I used anise seed. I had honeydew melon in my freezer, so I used that instead of asian pear.

The coconut milk I bought was more like coconut paste, which turned out to be a good thing, since the 2 cups of water, plus the tomato & melon juice, made the sauce very runny. If your coconut milk is mostly fluid, I’d decrease the amount of water.

I used one jalapeño, with seeds included. If you want less heat, you can leave out the seeds, or use a milder pepper. If you want it hotter, you can use more peppers, or a hotter variety. I think I’ll probably use more curry powder next time, but it’s a personal choice.

chicken curry