Tags

, , ,

Colcannon is an Irish comfort food. As a fan of both mashed potatoes and cabbage, I was an instant lover of colcannon and frequently keep some in the freezer for days I need a little spudderiffic pick-me-up.

I blended several recipes together to make my colcannon. It was a kind of learn-as-I-go sort of process, so hopefully I’ve remembered it correctly. If you can make mashed potatoes, you’re pretty much good to go. Aside from that, it’s kind of up to you to make it as you like it.

I ended up sauteing the cabbage in a bit of bacon grease (like my grandma taught me) and then simmered it in some beef broth leftover from making beef stew. Used evaporated milk instead of regular, and used much less butter than the original recipe called for. I also didn’t use any ham. But I might next time, if I’m not already making a meat dish.

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb Yukon gold potatoes (my faves) or other potatoes, quartered
  • ¼ head cabbage, cored and finely sliced
  • 1 green onion, diced (white & green parts)
  • 1/3 cup evaporated milk, warmed
  • 1 clove garlic, pressed & minced
  • butter
  • salt and pepper to taste

Method:

  1. Place potatoes in a large saucepan and add water to cover by 1-inch.
  2. Bring to a boil, then reduce to medium-low heat, cover & simmer until tender (about 20 min)
  3. Saute cabbage & garlic in a bit of bacon grease or butter until soft. Reserve the grease or butter. If it’s not soft enough for your taste, you can simmer it in a bit of broth (drain after).
  4. Drain the potatoes and mash, adding milk as you go. Add salt and pepper to taste.
  5. Fold in the cabbage, butter/grease, and garlic.
  6. Serve hot with a pat of butter on top and garnish with green onions.

You can also add leftover corned beef, bacon, or ham. We enjoyed ours with Irish Beef Stew and Soda Bread.

colcannon