Tags

, , ,

When I first visited Choluteca, Honduras in 2004, I stayed in the home of a sweet lady named Miriam. And then I stayed with her again in 2006 and 2007. She became my Honduran “mom.” And over the years, I got to know her daughter, Melissa as well. When Melissa and Eli were engaged, she and I talked about wedding planning. In the course of my work with the Casa Hogar Vida website, I’ve collaborated with Eli, since he works in administration for Iglesia Gran Comision’s children’s ministries. So when I saw Melissa’s pregnancy announcement on Facebook, I knew I wanted to do something special for them.

 

This is another granny square blanket. I used the same basic pattern as on the Jungle Boogie blanket, though because this yarn is lighter weight, I had to do rows of single & double crochets more often in order to keep the shape. Since they don’t know the gender of their baby yet, I chose a rainbow colored yarn that’s super soft and bright. To me, the colors are very Honduran – I think I’ve seen houses of each of these colors in Choluteca.The yarn is Bernat Softee Baby Yarn in “Candy Ombre.”

I’m very much looking forward to giving Meli & Eli the blanket, and so excited to meet their little one next spring break!