Tags

We love ya! We love ya! We love ya!
And everywhere we’ll follow!
We’ll follow! We’ll follow! We’ll follow!
Cuz we support the US! The US! The US!
And that’s the way we like it!
We like it! We like it!

I don’t know if I can really explain what the Women’s National Team means to me. I guess for most girls who were growing up in the 80’s & 90’s we were increasingly aware of the WNT, culminating with the 1999 World Cup, which was right after my senior year of high school. I was dealing with a knee injury, so even though I wasn’t playing at all that summer, soccer was on my mind almost all the time – every time my knee hurt😉. I think I was in between youth camp and children’s camp, or vice versa. Watching that final game at home with my family. Long and arduous, scoreless through two overtimes…

“And that’s it. The 1999 Women’s Wold Cup will be decided on penalty kicks.”

Shot and a goal

Shot and a goal

Save, Scurry!

“The USA could win the World Cup on this next kick. Chastain will take it.”

GOAL!!!

Triumph for the United States. And triumph for female athletes everywhere as the fervor that surrounded the World Cup that summer demonstrated to the men in suits that women’s sports could be lucrative and were well worth the investment. And invest they did. There are now more women’s national soccer teams than ever, and more being built every year (Honduras has just begun putting one together in the last year). And more opportunities for girls around the world to participate in sports, which for many is one of the few freedoms they have in male-dominated societies.

1999 Women’s World Cup a peg in American’s growing interest in soccer – San Diego Sports | Examiner.com

FIFA Women’s World Cup

Women’s soccer: U.S. team confident for World Cup

U.S. must reestablish dominance in Women’s World Cup

10 reasons to watch the Women’s World Cup

Here’s our roster for the World Cup…

US Women's National Team World Cup Roster