Tags

, ,

As you may or may not know, part of my job (my pay-the-bills, day-job) is acting as a courier. In the afternoons, I make the rounds to various real estate offices and lenders to drop things off and pick things up (contracts, checks, documents, yadda yadda yadda).

I can spend up to 3 hours doing this, and a lot of it is driving between distant locations, navigating traffic, sitting at red lights, etc. It gets boring. Sometimes I listen to music. But eventually, even a diverse playlist gets old.

So I frequently listen to audio books. But buying a new audio book every week would be cost-prohibitive. So I’ve added podcasts to my delivery route audio-rotation.

I’ve found some great podcasts: informational, entertaining, inspiring… you can pretty much get whatever you want in podcast form. But I have had to rethink my methods a bit because of certain podcasts.

Sometimes when I have a lot of deliveries downtown, I park in a central location and walk a circuit, rather than trying to drive around and park near each destination. When I do this, I frequently put my earbuds in and keep listening to whatever I was playing in my car.

This works great when I’m trying to get through a long audiobook. This does not work for podcasts. Or rather, I should say this does not work for one particular podcast.

Last Thursday I was wasting some time between an after-work meeting and a church event. So I stuck my earbuds in and started wandering campus with a podcast on. Big mistake. When you start guffawing out loud in the middle of the sidewalk, people will stare at you.

And today, when I pulled up at a real estate office, I was laughing so hard, I had to sit in my car for a few minutes to compose myself before getting out. Then I had to continue reminding myself not to think about what had been cracking me up. And I think I still ended up grinning creepily while picking up contracts.

Moral of the story: do not attempt to listen to The Nerdist in public.

P.S. I do highly recommend Nerdist, as long as your cussing tolerance is pretty high. Wondering WTF Nerdist is? Here’s a pretty good intro.

And if Nerdist strikes your funny bone, be sure to check out the debut of The Nerdist TV Show on BBC America on Saturday, September 24 at 10/9c