Tags

, , , ,

Forget gingerbread cookies. My favorite Christmas cookies

These always bring back memories of lazy Saturday mornings at my grandma’s house, drinking tea, eating cookies, reading the “funny pages” in the Post-Dispatch or listening to KMOX. It wasn’t specifically a Christmas-time event, but when it gets cold and I’m drinking tea all day just to stay warm, I start craving windmill cookies.

Speculaas are the perfect cookie to have with tea. Just one quick dunk turns them from hard biscuits into soft, melt-in-your-mouth perfection. The mild spices compliment almost any flavor of tea.

I’ve always bought mine from the store, but I’m tempted to try making them at home. I’m not a huge fan of gingerbread cookies or sugar cookies. So maybe these can become my traditional cookies for fun shapes and decorating. I’ll give it a try and let you know how it goes.

Speculaas Recipe – The Dutch Baker’s Daughter Blog