Tags

, , ,

Today’s prompt for National Migraine Awareness month: Migraine Awareness Month #3:   Just shoot me now! What’s your worst Migraine trigger? Can you avoid it? How do you handle it? 

I don’t know if I have a “worst” trigger. The most inevitable ones are hormones (love that monthly cycle), and weather (usually dropping barometric pressure). Those are ones I can’t control. They happen when they happen. However, I’m a bit lucky in the sense that my triggers are cumulative. Meaning, one trigger isn’t usually enough to cause a migraine. It usually takes two, or three triggers piling up to send me to migraine-land. And the more triggers, the worse the migraine seems to be.

So even though I can’t control the big triggers of hormones and weather, if I can control or reduce other triggers, I can often avoid a migraine.

Important triggers for me to keep up with on a daily basis are:

  • Blood sugar drops – eating a high-protein diet, small meals throughout the day, avoiding sugar in the morning
  • Dehydration – water, water, and more water! Avoiding sodas, tea, alcohol, especially when it’s hot or I’m super active
  • Sleep deprivation – getting enough sleep, keeping my sleep schedule regular
  • Stress – sometimes it’s unavoidable, but taking time to chill, do a relaxing hobby, get some exercise, vent to a friend can all help defuse the stress-bomb.
  • Bright sun/Heat – This one is tough to deal with in Honduras. Hats, sunglasses are a must. Seeking shade when my body temp starts to go up. Drinking plenty of water. Resting when I need it.

National Migraine Awareness Month is initiated by the National Headache Foundation. The Blogger’s Challenge is initiated by www.FightingHeadacheDisorders.com