Tags

, ,

Today’s prompt for National Migraine Awareness month: Migraine Awareness Month #5: Do That To Me One More TimeWhat comfort measure do you find helps you enough during a Migraine that you go back to it again and again, and how do you use it? 

I have a stash of ready-to-go gel icepacks in the freezer. I have an awesome crochet cover that I use as a soft comfy barrier between the chilly plastic and my skin.

I usually retreat to my bedroom, where the room darkening curtains are a relief. The hum of the ceiling fan provides enough white noise to drown out any painful noises.

Because getting comfortable enough to sleep is always a challenge, I have an arsenal of pillows of various sizes to adjust my position. And I’ll admit it, even at 31 years old, I have a stuffed animal that I cling to in those worst moments – and my husband doesn’t even tease.

If I can get hubby to gently massage my scalp or rub my back, it usually feels good for awhile, then I’m ready to try to sleep it off.

I also have a stash of nausea-friendly foods to help pick me up when it’s over. Vanilla wafers can be a lifesaver!

National Migraine Awareness Month is initiated by the National Headache Foundation. The Blogger’s Challenge is initiated by www.FightingHeadacheDisorders.com