Tags

, , ,

Today’s prompt for National Migraine Awareness month: Migraine Awareness Month Blogging Challenge #8: “Let there be light.” Most Migraineurs have issues with light sensitivity. What do you do to cope with it?

Light sensitivity is always a challenge. For years, I couldn’t stand wearing sunglasses, even though everyone told me it would help. But back when sunglasses were small wireframed things, they just didn’t block out enough light to be worth the vision distortions that they seemed to cause. Since big plastic sunglasses have become the trend, I have latched on with gusto (and multiple pairs!). The plastic frames sit more comfortably on my face, the lenses are close enough to my eyes that I don’t get any reflections that disorient me, and the coverage keeps all the dreadful sunlight out. But on the sunniest days, I have to go a step further.

I’m not usually a hat person. Like many migraneurs, I’m very sensitive to touch, so a hat is usually more bothersome than it’s worth. But I’ve found a few that rest gently on my head, over whatever hairstyle I’m rocking, and shade my face effectively. So when I’m spending a day outdoors, or riding in a car on a super sunny day, on goes the hat, no matter what my hubby has to say about it’s silliness.

At work, I actually asked the maintenence guy not to replace a burned out florescent bulb above my desk. Having one bulb out tones down the harshness of the lighting, and makes it a much more comfortable environment for work. At home, we use gentle lighting, soft-white bulbs instead of bright-white. And of course, we have room-darkening curtains in the bedroom so I can retreat to a dark cave when migraine strikes. I do wish we had darker window dressing in our living room, so I could draw curtains and hang out on the couch during an attack.

National Migraine Awareness Month is initiated by the National Headache Foundation. The Blogger’s Challenge is initiated by www.FightingHeadacheDisorders.com